DirtyDerv87

advice Becoming a PLC Programmer - Advice***

3 posts in this topic

Hello All,

A little bit about my current role. I am currently a Automation and Welding Robotics Programmer ( automotive industry ). I have been programming robotics for almost 4 years at my company, but this is all experience work, no qualifications. I enjoy the role but this is very insecure due to having no qualifications, if the company was to go under.

I am currently working out in Hungary on a secondment with my company. The project was the introduction of a second line at one of our other plants. This has gone successfully and will be coming to an end come December. 

While i have been here i have been working with a PLC Engineer ( Contractor ), After speaking with him about his role it intrigued me and felt it was something i would enjoy pursuing. Unfortunately it appears that he is a "knowledge is power" kinda guy which leaves me unable to learn anything from him. 

So i am 30 Years of age this year... So my question is too any of you experienced and hopefully helpful individuals is... 

Is 30 too old to start this career? if not then;

• Where is the best place to start learning about PLC Programming?
  • What should i be learning?
  • What courses are available? - Are there recognised governing bodies for this role?
  • What career path would you suggest?

I hope someone is willing to share info / answer some of my questions. Help in anyway would be greatly appreciated.

10 hours ago, DirtyDerv87 said:

Hello All,

A little bit about my current role. I am currently a Automation and Welding Robotics Programmer ( automotive industry ). I have been programming robotics for almost 4 years at my company, but this is all experience work, no qualifications. I enjoy the role but this is very insecure due to having no qualifications, if the company was to go under.