Andrei Blagaila

SECS/GEM Communication

13 posts in this topic

Hy guys,

Has anyone ever used SECS/GEM with mitsubishi PLCs? I don't really understand it and maybe someone know better how it works.

Thanks.

I'm not very good at this and not very familiar with it, but what specifically are you wondering about? What is it that you don't understand?

I'm interested in understanding how the PLC communicates with the Host. I'm guessing that there is some kind of shared memory where both PLC and host write. I'm using for example ladder diagram in GX Works 2. What kind of variables do I use for the communication part? B kind? I've been trying to study the Q50UDEHCPU (the one i'm using) and it's manual to understand where is it's shared memory and if that is the solution because as I wrote above, I'm new to SECS/GEM and don't quite understand how it's supposed to work with Mitsubishi.

Thank you

SECS/GEM is more of a standardized way of communicating with SECS/GEM compatible HW. The "standard" CPU's for ladder programming (like your Q50UDEH CPU) does not support communication using SECS/GEM - you'll need a C controller (like Q06DCCPU-V) and according to Mitsubishi's documents you can perform SECS/GEM communication.

This would be a lot easier if you could explain what you are connecting too on the host side. What are you going to communicate from/to the PLC? Why do you need SECS/GEM communication? Please inform us what you want to communicate with (e.g. a regular server, MES system, SCADA system and so on), and why you specifically want to use SECS/GEM.