Davka

Tips for keeping code clean?

5 posts in this topic

Hello!

I am fairly new to the PLC world and I have worked mostly with Mitsubishi products. Right now I am doing some work with an FX5U and a GS2110 touchscreen. The code is a mix of LD for the meat and potatoes stuff and ST for more math-intensive parts.

My question is how you guys generally organize your code with respect to inputs from HMI, stuff happening in the PLC and outputs to machines? I have made state machines for the sequential processes such as weighing in materials and more direct "stuff goes in, stuff comes out" code for the manual modes.

The flow from HMI out to machine is sort of like this: HMI Inputs -> PLC -> PLC decides whether this is an automated process or a manually controlled one -> Execute the corresponding code -> Activate proper outputs, use sensor feedback if it's an automated process

I hope this makes sense. Would be nice to get a feel for general workflow and organization from other people who work with this.

Best regards,

David

Hello,

My personal point of view: I normally use separate POU's for different logical parts of the program:
1.Inputs (Physical - it's own POU so that you can invert digital signals if nescessary, and scale analog signals)
2.Alarms (Software generated alarms to trigger bits and so on)
3.HMI (Stuff to/from the screens)
4.All different logically separated program blocks (divide in "as many as possible blocks") like:
    -PIDs
    -Sequence A
    -Sequence B
    -Sequence C
    -Frequency Inverters
    -Servos
5. Communication
    -Ethernet
    -Profibus
    -Modbus
6. Outputs (Physical - it's own POU so that you can invert digital signals if nescessary, and scale analog signals)

When it comes to global variable lists, I normally go with:
1.Constants (all constants used in the code)
2.GlobalAssigned (all assigned global variables)
3.GlobalUnassigned (all unassigned global variables)

Then, local variable lists as far as possible.