nesccwbi

Array Step Length/DINT Length

5 posts in this topic

I'm working on a project that is made easiest by using a sequencer. The process I have has 51 outputs. I've created the array as the steps that I need but how can each step have more than the standard 32 bits (DINT)? Is it possible to change the length of the DINT so every output is available at everything step?  Thanks. 

Sorry if my description is vague I'm still learning some of the terminology. 

I've done this very thing for mol sieve dehy beds in the past. I created a User Defined Data Type (under Data then User Defined). I attached mine so you can import it and look at it.

Then create a tag, I'll call mine DehySeq of the TYPE Seq. Once you import what I made or make your own the data type will be available

The tag wii look something like this: DehySeq Seq[32]. I used the last register as a holding register for the current state of the sequence and use MOV DehySeq[0] to DehySeq[1] to load the placeholder. If statements, timers, whatever control the steps. The MOV just "documents" which step your in and what it does

The structure of my UDT is. I changed the sequence from what is attached. Over time I've learned that the more letters there are in a tag the more I have to type. .V is a whole lot shorter than .Value. Also, Instead of DehySeq I would probably use DS so my tag structure would be DS[0].V etc. Time is money and typing sucks...

V type INT

D type STRING

P1 type BOOL

P2 type REAL

V is the step number

D is what the step does The first two are for the HMI <--- EXTREMELY HANDY Don't underestimate how much time is saved by referencing a populated STRING tag in an HMI. If something changes you change the value in one place. You're going to document the tag anyway, at least you should, so why do it in 2 or 3 places. Let the HMI read the string and report what is going on to the operator