Oliver

Freeware SCADA comparison

11 posts in this topic

Hello!

I am a SCADA beginner with no realistic experience and knowledge. All I know are the basics. At the moment I am writing a paper about freeware, shareware etc SCADAs. I want to compare different SCADA programs and then, according to their different aspects and benchmarks (user interface, features etc), make some kind of review about freely available SCADA programs.

What are the things I should know doing this kind of research? Can you recommend me some considerable  SCADA programs? What are aspects I should concentrate on while doing the comparison? Any kind of advice is warmly welcome.

Thanking you in advance

Oliver

The first thing you need to know is that with SCADA Software you get what you pay for.

In this field the less you pay for the software and licenses to use that software the more time will be spent implementing, writing, troubleshooting, and getting the software to communicate to all of your devices. 

As in life there is no such thing as a "Free Lunch". YMMV

22 hours ago, RussB said:

In this field the less you pay for the software and licenses to use that software the more time will be spent implementing, writing, troubleshooting, and getting the software to communicate to all of your devices. 

As in life there is no such thing as a "Free Lunch". YMMV

Yeah, I strongly disagree with the first statement.

PeakHMI, is full featured, is very easy to use and is low cost (compared to other HMIs with similar feature sets).

And yes, I am associated with PeakHMI.

I both agree and disagree with @RussB and @Mark-! Yes, in many cases you get what you pay for, however exception do occur.