electric101

help with NOT and OR instructions

7 posts in this topic

I've been programming PLC's for about 2 months but working with other types of control systems for a few years. I'm currently building a program to control a water storage tank for the farm that will interface with advanced HMI. my issue right now is with my fault light stack and fault logic. im trying to use a NOT instruction so that the green light is always on unless the Red light comes on... so i thought i'd use NOT so that if N7:30 is not true or 1 then the green light is on but if it is true then its off or 0 ...but i keep ending up with -1 or -2 in the interger file. also, my OR logic of the yellow light that should trigger if any of my 4 tank level switches fault only works on one of the rungs... if either of the N22 or 23 come true then N7:31 comes true but it doesnt seem to work the same way on the rung for N7:20 or N7:21 to trigger N7:31... if either of them come true N7:31 doesnt come true. im submitting my logic for your review... thanks so much in advance. WaterSystem.RSS

Hi, welcome to the forum. I think you are trying to over complicate things. Why are you using integer files to do bit functions? I have made a mod to your ladder as an example. Steve WATERSYSTEM.RSS

As Nephets said, don't use an integer file (Nx:xx) use a bit like B3/0 or B3/1 or directly address the outputs: O:1/2. I think that is what your problem is.

I originally used B3:x/x for the fault outputs and OR instructions in the fault logic but they kept flagging errors that i needed to address at the word level... i guess i was going to the bit level. ? i'll have a look at your edits as soon as i get a chance but much thanks for the reply.

The XIO instruction is essentially a bitwise NOT. Branches with XIO/XIC instructions are bitwise OR's. You are thinking from a computer programming paradigm, not from discrete logic programming.