Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Patriot

Vhmiautomation Slc500 Df1 Driver Examples

8 posts in this topic

Does anyone out there have any experience using the vHMI Automation Active X DLL PLC Communications drivers? I recently bought the AB Driver to communicate DF1 or ethernet to a Micrologix 1000. I have looked at the supplied demo program, and I have read the supplied documentation. There are no examples for bit reads and writes. Does anyone have any additional examples of communicating with a PLC using either the ethernet or DF1 drivers from vHMIAutomation?

Isn't that designed specifically for Visual Basic? I also believe that there are diffrent calls for specific PLC's. I think this might be what you are looking for or have looked at. If you are refering to an AB PLC. I have little experience with these, but I'm almost positive that you cannot directly address an I/O with this driver (you will have to try I: and O: instead of N: to see). You must indirectly do it through the interger bits. This is not quit as pretty as doing it through RSView32 which will allow you to do anything to anything. First of all you need to connect to the PLC with the "Set ab =" command, whether it be by serial or ethernet. Assuming a connection has been established, the first statement sets up a write command to an AB processor. The second statement assigns the interger file that will be written to. The third statement assigns the starting word within that interger file. The forth statement tells the length of words to read. The fifth statement declares the type of words being written to. The sixth statement is the value being sent. The seventh statement actually tells the processor to do it. The last statment is basically like the "go" button. I have seen this on an Automated Solutions Active X control before. I believe the 888 is actually being written to the entire word (not just a single bit) in the example. Just convert decimal to binary and display the Interger file and s