Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hboyer90

Help with BTR and BTW instructions.

13 posts in this topic

Hey guys, another beginner question here. Can somebody please explain to me what the BTR and the BTW instructions do/ how to use them in RSLogix5. I am a pretty novice programmer. I know that they have something to do with the analog, encoders and thermocouple modules on our machines, but I'm not sure how to set them up in a program. Can somebody please explain it in an easily understandable way? Also, I am currently working on converting a program (re-writing actually) from RSLogix5 to RSLogix5000 and I see that there is no BTR or BTW but it uses a message instruction or something? Any help understanding this would be greatly, greatly appreciated. It's been a couple years since I took my PLC classes. Thank you so much.

Hello, I am a novice also and woking on a similar problem messaging between Compact and Micrologix. Anyway from what I understand about the PLC5 system we have is that the specialty modules, Analog, HSC, etc, are not directly addressed in the programing and you have to use read and write Block Transfers to and from these types of modules. Others will be able to explain in more detail. As far as using the messaging instruction here are a couple of links to other threads that talk about messaging, these are more specific to Comapactlogix to the SLC or Micrologix platform, but you can get links to lots of Rockwell literature from these threads that will help point you in the right direction. http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=58012 http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=82101 http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=73533 http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=77166 Sorry I could not be of more help, but I will watch your post to see if others give you any info that will help me along also. Have a good one. BCS