Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jaco1306

Need help with Sick CLV631-0120 and ML1100

4 posts in this topic

Hi I am new with Barcode scanners. I want to trigger the barcode scanner from the plc and read the barcodein th ePLC. Howwill I be able to do this?

Are you using a Sick CDM breakout box? Hook a PLC output up to the trigger input of the barcode scanner. Wiring depends on the model of the PLC. Connect the RS232 connection of the barcode scanner to the programming port of the PLC. That port is a combination RS232/RS422, so you'll want to check the wiring. You may be able to do it with a standard Micrologix serial programming cable and a null modem, but you'll want to check the wiring. Change the channel configuration of the Micrologix programming port from DF1 to ASCII and set the baudrate, etc. to match the setup of the barcode scanner. Note that this means you will no longer be able to program the PLC using the programming port, you will have to use Ethernet for that. When the PLC output is turned on, the barcode scanner will trigger. It will read a barcode and send an ASCII string to bufferes in the PLC. Use the ARD or ARL instruction to read data from the buffers into a string data type for manipulation.