Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CaRnO

Modbus Widget needed

7 posts in this topic

Hi Guys, I'll try at my best to be the most clear and understandable as possible with my level of english. Here is the situation. I got a Master device A who speaks ModbusRTU . The message pass through Device B who translates it to Modbus TCP. Then Device C recieves the message through the network. (pic1) The problem is that the Device A is not configurable and it always point at the same register address. So, if there is more than one Device A in the same système, there is a register address conflict. I want to know: is there a device, let's call it D, that can take a message and shift the register address inside ? Exemple: The first Device A need to read the register 0 to 9. it get over the TCP network with the help of the Device B and it read the address 0 to 9 in the Device C then the seconde Device A need to read the 0-9 address ( but those are already use by the first Device A) so in the Device C we reserve 10 to 19. So the Second device A will ask for the 0-9 to the DEVICE D. Device D will shift the address for 10 to 19 and the Device C will provide that through the network with the help of the device B.(pic 2) So, does it exist ? thank you.

Device A is the master. Device C is the slave. If device D is on an ethernet network, it has an IP address. The IP address (not the slave node ID number) is used for identifying the slave. For reading registers 0-9 from any device, Device A master needs to query each device by its IP address, for instance, first Device D at 192.168.xxx.xxx and the second Device D at 192.168.xxx.yyy