Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
onraed

TIA Portal

4 posts in this topic

At my work I heard Siemens is changing to TIA portal to replace the existing Step 7 The hardware will be at end of life in about two years. I'm a programmer for about 10 years, in different brands and area's. In the last years I've had occasionally a training of a new brand, mostly I learned it by doing it. Is it mandatory or advisable to follow a TIA training or can I wing it.

If you look at the components of TIA portal, specifically their service packs, you will notice that there are upgrades for WinCC and Step 7 respectively. I am not a big code guy, but it appears to me that the TIA portal is merely an integrating platform to mesh multiple platforms together. If you are versed in the originals, the learning curve for this is fairly short. Instead of setting up paths between 2 separate programs for HMI and PLC for instance, you simply point and click from one device to anothers' port and they are put on the same network. Once in the same network, when accessing the HMI you can select tags out of its associated PLC directly. I think it is fairly intuitive, although bulky and slow to boot and run on my Dell Latitude E5500. I too have been interested in hearing other people comment about how they feel about this software.

There's some decent videos on YouTube too This is where step7 is heading so I would recommend learning it