Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mikebon111

Ideal AB Module for pulse control of a dosing pump

7 posts in this topic

Hello All I just like to start by saying that I’m an operator, not automation guy so I apologize in advance if my questions aren’t very clear. I’m responsible for water treatment here at my power plant and I want to do some upgrades, one of which is automating my chlorine injection pumps. For next year I budgeted to have a pro come and do the upgrades but I have some funds leftover in this year’s budget that I’d like to use to get some of the needed hardware. The PLC is an AB SLC 5/04 and the pump is a ProMinent beta4, below is a clip from the pump spec sheet. Controlling contact (pulse): With voltage free contact or with semiconductor sink logic control (NPN), not source logic (PNP). With a residual voltage of <700 mV, the contact load is approximately 0.5 mA at +5 VDC. (Note: Semiconductor contacts that require >700 mV across a closed contact should not be used.) Pump ignores contacts exceeding maximum input rate, and will not remember. Necessary contact duration: 20 ms I have some available channels on a Relay Output Module (1746-OW16) that I think can be used for this but I’m not sure. My Question is: Will the 1746-OW16 module work for this application, if not which type module would be ideal? I have the module spec sheet but I can’t make much sense of what I’m looking at. Ive attached the spec sheet for the module in question Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you AB PLC.pdf

Welcome to the Forum! If you need a Contact Closure, I would recommend the 1746-OX8, which has 8 Isolated Contacts. Stu....