Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bigredram87

Basic Timers

20 posts in this topic

I just recently started working with PLC's. I have no prior experience so please pardon the lack of knowledge. I am basically reading a book and starting to just go through it while practicing on my Micrologix 1100 with rslogix 500. My question is I have been using photoeye sensors to start a timer that when the time is met will shut off a motor through a relay.Basically a safety device simulating a box being jammed in a conveyor. Anyway as I was playing with the timers and latches I realized I dont know what function I would use to say start a motor for 5 seconds and than turn off? I know I may be missing something very simple but basically I know how to start a timer with an input(photoeye) but I dont know if the TON timer would be what I would use to just start a motor and than turn it off? If any one could point me in the right direction it would be very appreciated. Thanks in advance

Use the photo eye to enable a TON and have a NOT .DN bit in parallel to latch in timer so it will continue to time after the photo eye is clear. The use the .TT bit to run the motor.

Please be precise in how long the photoeye will be on relative to the 5 seconds of motor run.