Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
av8or1

Deciding on a controller

69 posts in this topic

Hi- How are you? I am looking for a little guidance regarding the selection of a micro controller for a home project. I did a search on this forum but didn't come up with what I was looking for, so I thought I would post my question here. Hope it is ok. My usage of the controller won't involve the governing of anything vital or anything that could harm someone (like a saw, etc.), just lights mostly and possibly one small fan. With that in mind I had tenatively selected the AB Micrologix 1000. However I cannot decide on which model to get. I'm looking at the 1761-L32AWA or 1761-L32BWB ... the inputs will consist of sensors (proximity sensors, photo-reflective sensors) and the outputs will provide the control signals (switching) of lights. I'm guessing that the BWB is the way to go in this case, but I am a complete newbie with this stuff. I am a pure software guy, so learning the ladder logix stuff was relatively easy, but getting that to work with the real-world stuff isn't something that I deal with at all really. So any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Jerry

Given your limited hardware experience I want to be sure of one thing. If the fans and lights you are cotnrolling are 120 VAC you will not want to be bringing that 120 VAC into your PLC. You'll want your plc to switch "power relays" which send the working power to the lights or fan. Hope this makes sense. That said your choice of AWA or BWB will depend a lot on the "power relays". Given the latest NFPA 70E safety guidelines I'd recommend using the BWB and wire everthing but the final working power to the lights and fans at 24 VDC.

You might also consider the MicroLogix 800 line. I'll echo Bob and suggest 24VDC for controlling relays that control the actual loads.