Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bobbias

Servo Control

26 posts in this topic

Alright, I've already asked this question on plctalk.net, but it hasn't received much attention. (Thread can be found here: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=54437) I'm a complete Omron newbie. I've been spending my free time for the last week or so trying to learn how to control an Omron servo using an CJ1M CPU23 with a CJ1W-MCH71 unit attached. The drive and servo are R88D-WN01L-ML2 and R88M-W10030H-S1. I've managed to figure out how to write a program in CX-Motion-MCH and run it in monitor mode. However there are some issues I'm having. When I started using it, I tried making it search for the origin. Unfortunately, the origin appeared to be somewhere outside the motion range. It's a ball screw setup, and the origin appears to have been set somewhere beyond the motion range moving towards the servo unit itself. To remedy that, I moved it (slowly) to the absolute limit of motion, and set the origin there, so at the very least it wouldn't try to move outside it's range of motion. Unfortunately, that hasn't seemed to do much goof. If I attempt to use a SPEED command, it has a tendancy to speed up, and move towards the origin really quickly. Of course, I've got my suspician that I'm not using the MOVE command correctly. I'm really not sure what I need to do to be able to say, give it a command to move to a location, and tell it to move at a half decent speed, instead of the dead crawl it defaults to, without encountering that nasty high-speed movement towards the origin, which ends up making the servo emit a loud noise because it can't move any more, and usually error out of the program... I've been scouring what manuals I can find, but Omron seems to have a nasty habit of hiding or outright leaving out some really helpful information in their manuals. And in case anyone asks, the computer I'm on doesn't have a copy of any of the files. I might be able to list out the ser