Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ETJ

LogixPro silo simulation completed - Comments please

9 posts in this topic

Hi.. I'm new to plc.. I've just completed the Silo simulation exercise 3. I know it has alot of rungs because my initial idea is to activate output by using state/flag instead of input. This is so that it is easier to modify the coding later on if needed to. But i'm not sure whether it is necessary to do so or not.. Can somebody please comment/advice/critic..? Thanks..

My first comment is about your comments. Excellent job! So many projects get posted without a single comment. Not only does it help us follow the program but it is a good practice to get into on real programs. While it may be fresh in your head today, a few years down the road when you get called into troubleshoot that machine those comments will be priceless A quick glance at it shows some well thought out code. It is easy to follow which is good. I love to criticize others code, especially a newbie, but it looks like is satisfies the criteria of the exercise nicely

yay.. thanks.. I was abit worried when coding it because i 'wasted' 4 rungs. I could have saved 4 rungs if i'd connect the output directly to the input for run light, motor, valve and filling light. If I remembered correctly, the logixpro student exercise said not to use too many rungs for the program.. I also came across some program using fewer rungs but look more 'professional'.. But then again... I was trying to think in terms of maintenance and easy modification.. Hmm.. newbie's insecurities I guess..... Btw, is there any right method to planning and programming apart from writing comments..? I was thinking since I've jst started learning plc programming, might as well as do it the right way from the start.. hmm... Thanks again..