Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
howdy do

Barcode Reader and MicroLogix1100

10 posts in this topic

Hey guys, can you help me with this issue? I have a microscan ethernet ready scanner and i am trying to get it to talk to a micrologix 1100. I set up a mininetwork in my office to do this. I want to be able to read a code see if it matches a stored code and throw an output if it doesnt match. I was told that it is possible to have the scanner read a code and send it to the plc for "EQUAL" or "NOTEQUAL" comparison. Im using the free version of RSlogix Micro, I am able to connect to the plc load and download no issuses there, I just dont know how to go about using "MSG" and what ports to use and how it is done. I am completely new to this and the manuals are of no use...very vague. If anyone has any info it would be much appriciated! Thanks in advance. Ethan

Your best information will come from Microscan. For the 1100 to interrogate the scanner it has to be able to respond to Ethernet IP (that's "Industrial Protocol" not "Internet Protocol"). Ask Microscan for a sample of a program for the 1100. Though usually a scanner will be the originator (perhaps after some enabling event) of the message to your PLC. Another possibility, is to use a digital output from the scanner if that is available. Though there would probably be two lines, one indicating that a scan was made and another to indicate the result of the equality test.

Thankyou. I did get some info from microscan but it is not very helpful and they are using some other plc and program. Which, between the 2 ways you described is the better, and how do i do it? Does anyone know where i can find some info on using a scanner with these types of plcs? Or actually, a more indepth description of how to use message control, maybe I can figure out the rest on my own. Any info would be much appriciated. Ethan

Ethan post what Microscan gave you this may help us help you