Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BobLfoot

Home Network Setup

17 posts in this topic

I work with PLCs for a living and have always known just enough about PCs and Networking to be dangerous. I've got a question about setting up my home network and firewalls etc. Right now I use a Linksys router to connect my home PCs to my DSL router and the internet. On the wireless side I used WEP and non-broadcast. For the connection to the modem I turned on the Linksys Firewall, blocked some ports and checked performance thru GRC.Com. All looks pretty good, but I was wondering. I've been reading about people setting up a PC running Linux to serve a the router and Firewall. Letting the Linux PC replace the routing functions of the Router. Does that mean the PC needs multiple ethernet cards? Or what exactly happens in that scenario. Can a more PC Guru minded member explain it to me? And remember you're talking to a networking neophyte.

as far as i recall, regardless of used OS it is possible to have router function using just one NIC but the problem with that is security. proper way is to have pair of NICs (one for WAN, one for LAN). LAN side connects to any ethernet switch or hub (this gives you needed multiple ports for other computers).

Corallary questions to the gurus. Does network traffic from Lan Adapter to Wan Adapter take up OS and CPU overhead on the host PC?

You need two Ethernet cards and the PC that is screening and passing through the traffic uses its CPU time. Not the client PCs. We used an older PC and installed linux on it to do exactly what is being suggested here. It really isn't a good idea because you can get dedicated routers in a box with embedder firmware that will come back on line MUCH faster after a power outage and are less susceptible to have their code modified. We just replaced our Linux router with a $200 embedded router/firewall. It has at least two Ethernet ports. One of the WAN and at least one for the LAN.