Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BenJones

Mitsubish FX3u - GX IEC developer.

38 posts in this topic

Hi, I am using a function block 'IntScale' so that I can scale the analogue inputs from the FX4AD_ADP analogue input cards. I have 16 inputs and wish to scale all differently. If I use the IntScale FB this works but I have copied and pasted it 16 times in the program and this takes up a lot of memory. Is there a way to keep CALLing the FB so that I can input different values each time ? I guess I would need to MOVE each input and output to a seperate memory address ? Is there an easier way than this without taking up much memory ? I'm new to programming and not sure how to do this. Many thanks in advance, Ben

Use the Beijer scaling function instead (EngCalc). Uses a lot less memory (less steps and rescources): 1 IntScale uses 825steps 1 EngCalc FB uses 141steps If you're using many (like 8 or 16), use the function instead of the function block (the EngCalc library is provided with both a 'function' and a 'function block'). You'll see the difference when defining more than 2 or 3 blocks: 16 EngCalcFB (Function blocks) uses 2211steps 16 EngCalc (Functions) uses 978 steps You can find the library here: http://www.beijer.no/web/web_aut_no.nsf/do...125728E0059B4C9 If this is still too much space you'll have to make arrays of your values, and just index through them in a loop or in a sequence and use one FB to update all your values. Edited by kaare_t

And people were saying in previous posts the function blocks on the Mitsu site were old. This one clearly states GX IEC 5.02 on the website.

In my opinion, it doesn't matter if the FB is "old" as long as it does what it's meant to do.... The 141steps still work fine for me, and I can't seem to find anything that should have been updated with this specific FB. You don't modify anything that works - you either add/remove functions, or you fix bugs.