Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Xsailor

Migrate from TP170B to TP177B

6 posts in this topic

Greetings. I am a newbie to automation and just grasping the basics. The current issue. I have 3 production lines using Siemens S7200 CPU 226 and the TP170B. Basic open-loop motion control using 4 nos Applied Motion Stepper drives and motors. All machines are wired PNP on the input side; CPUs are DI/DO. Have recently completed the wiring of the 4th & the 5th line ( I do the mechanicals, Pneumatics and the wiring part myself.) At the time of ordering for the CPUs and Ex. modules, Siemens informed that the TP170B is no longer in production and on their suggestion purchased a TP177B color. Uploading the PLC with the original program was simple enough (I have a copy of the Simatic PLC software - 5 yrs old though) but I am stuck with the screen - No idea on how to proceed with it. Siemens India has converted the old screen code to a XYZ.hmi file (about 13mb large) but are asking me to spend an additional USD 300 to have an engineer come over and upload the data on the new screen using WinCC Flexible (not available with me). a) Is there a simpler solution to upload the screen? b) Is it wise to invest in WinCC flexible software? c) Since the display is rather simple and straightforward, will it be wiser to move to another make / Brand to avoid similar issues in the future as and when one of the TP170s die on me (The first one is nearly 5 years old and runs 360 days/16 hours a day)? Thanks in advance for your kind advice, Gentlemen. Seth Edited by Xsailor