Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
markn

When to use STL programming?

19 posts in this topic

Hi Folks, Pardon my question as I am a rookie. I have been reading about using STL programming described in the FX programming manual, and I think I have an grasp about how it works. It appears that a program written with STL is simular to using conditional statements when programing with BASIC. Am I wrong? Regards.

I would also look at SFC. It is supported by Mitsu and is one of the 1131 languages. The manual gives a good example and explains the different blocks and branches. It is well suited for sequencing and state programing. A lot of standards recommend it for sequencing (S88 and PackML). I see it as a powerful language and try to use it often. Though I have yet to meet another programmer that has. Check out the poerpoint from OMAC, it will give you a brief overview: http://www.omac.org/OMACTemplate.cfm?Secti...ContentID=49260 Regards, Craig

My experience in Mitsubishi has been all ladder logic, but just this past week I was introduced to SFC. When it comes right down to it, STL and SFC are the same thing. STL is done in ladder logic, but allows you to break the code into a sequences. SFC is just a visual way of laying out STL, and I think much the better for it. I tried STL a while ago, but didn't like it because for me, it just complicated the code. SFC, does a much better job of breaking the code into chunks, especially since it physically uses ladder code in the blocks. I am planning to dig into it some more in the future.

Hi Guys, Thanks for the replies, one of the things that is not clear in reading the manual about STL programming using GX developer, is how to actually enter the code aside from entering in the ladder logic mode. Are there an info on using the tools and functions of STL (SFC) while programimg with GX?