Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nstn8

powerflex 40 drives and modbus RTU

9 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am new to setting up new equipment and have been tasked with setting up a SLC 5/03 with a 3-5 powerflex 40 drives so that their speed can be adjusted from a panelview plus 1500. Currently this system is in mid upgrade position with the SLC 5/03 already there and 1 powerflex 40 drive running directly off of the SLC output card, and the rest of the system is still straight out of the 1940s with contactors etc. I was looking at ways to network the powerflex's with the SLC and from the manual for the pf40 it says "PowerFlex 40 drives support the RS485 (DSI) protocol to allow efficient operation with Rockwell Automation peripherals. In addition, some Modbus functions are supported to allow simple networking. PowerFlex 40 drives can be multi-dropped on an RS485 network using Modbus protocol in RTU mode." I am not 100% sure what this means or how to go about setting this up. I assume this means they can be networked without using DeviceNet, ControlNet, or Ethernet/IP. Can somone give me a little insight on Modbus RTU and what tools are needed to implement it?

You are going to need a ModBus card for the 5/03, do you have an open slot? You can order the Modbus card from any AB dealer, check it out here: http://prosoft-technology.com/content/view/full/135

Yes I have an open slot on the SLC. Dumb question, but does AB not make a card for this? I mean I am trying to talk to an AB drive from an AB PLC, and I have to use another brands card to do this? I'm gonna read the manual and see if I have any more questions... thanks for the link.