Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cherdaplc

Devicent Mapping

24 posts in this topic

I'm new at control logics and I'm wondering how you can tell what tag is input or output so and so is there a place in the rslogics to find this.

I assume you are referring to aliased tags. If you right click and do a cross reference, you can see all the places a tag is use, and what the base tag is. You can then determine if the base tag is an output or input, or internal.

In Controllogix the tags which are automatically created when input and output modules are assigned all have the word "Local" with the slot number. Open a project, or create a project and assign input and output modules, then look through the "controller' tag listing. The 'aliased' tags which Ken is referring to are alternate names which are created and assigned as pointing to one of the "local" inputs or outputs. These aliases can make creating and troubleshooting a program much easier.

So you can know what slot # the tag comes from but not what input # or output #?

If, for example, you have configured an 8 Channel Analog Input card (1756 IF8) in slot #1, the tag would look like: Local:1:I. Here local refers to local chassis, 1 to slot # and I to input. On expanding this tag, the data tags can be found there (ex. Local:1:I.Ch0Data). Also, on creation of an I/O module in RSLogix5000, the default description appears. This can also help in identifying the card type and the no of channels. In our example, it is AB:1756_IF8_Float:I:0. Edited by Mandar

I still have not beenable to find this local type. If I have safty IO on devicenet and I have node 9 and bit input 2 what will the tag read?

Can you post your .acd file?

Oh so your looking for where a networked I/O point is mapped into the Controllogix? Along with your ACD file your should have a dnt file for RsNetworks. This contains the Devicenet I/O mapping