Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest grover

Logic Analyzer

4 posts in this topic

Greetings. I need to monitor eight, 0-24VDC signals over a 24-hour period to help solve an intermittent machine failure. Some, but not all of these signals interface with the A-B 5/30 machine PLC, therefore, I don't think an RSLogix histogram log would work. My intent is to capture failure data when it occurs (2-3:00 am, my typical luck) and have it waiting for me rather than babysit the machine with an oscope (my otherwise favorite tool of choice). When I worked in the semiconductor industry, we made frequent use of logic analyzers to monitor the real time logic level of up to 16 digital channels. The resolution of these devices was quite impressive, down to 10 nanoseconds or less. The problem is they cannot scale down to the 1 millisecond resolution levels that I require now. Any ideas on an application that would work on a Windows laptop and cost no more than $1,000 or so? I would appreciate any feedback. Grover

How about a Paper chart recorder...I had a similar instance on a thermoformer that was hickcupping once in a while...Rented a Hospital type chart recorder...I beleive it was 42 points I was looking at...Ran all night long and it turned out the problem was the contracator's drill...every time he would hit his button to drill his hammer drill on the new area they were installing the noise was picked up on the recorder an you could see the major spikes that influnce the control power on the machine....We installed line filters on the control power and "walla" problem never happened again...