Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cx-Programmer & NB-Designer


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 rodrgio

rodrgio

    Hi, I am New!

  • MrPLC Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:22 PM

HI

I have a CP1L-E and NB, and I can not make the communication between the two.
The question is, CX-Progammer is necessary to say that there is a NB?
For the NB gives this error (PLC Response Error)

Thanks a lot

#2 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1656 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 15 August 2013 - 09:44 PM

You may have to set up the link in the PLC serial port with CX-P.
The serial port defaults to Host Link, 9600, 7,2,E.

Edited by BobB, 15 August 2013 - 09:48 PM.

The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#3 rodrgio

rodrgio

    Hi, I am New!

  • MrPLC Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:55 AM

I have a connection for Ethernet IP, and this is for the Serial port 1 and 2

#4 Mendon Systems

Mendon Systems

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 16 August 2013 - 03:26 PM

I don't think the CP1L-E supports Ethernet IP. You have to use FINS protocol.
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems

#5 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1656 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:33 PM

The serial ports do not use Ethernet at all - only Ethernet uses Ethernet.
My last post was for a serial connection.
Yes, if you want to use the Ethernet port it will have to be FINS/TCP connection.
The PLC defaults to 192.168.250.1.
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#6 Mendon Systems

Mendon Systems

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 16 August 2013 - 08:22 PM

Bob, I thought that was how the -E that I installed a while ago worked, but didn't have a manual with me at the time.

I don't understand why Omron brought out new models that don't support Ethernet IP like the CJ2M does. I wish they would settle on one protocol and stick with it!!
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems

#7 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1656 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:19 PM

From what I am led to believe it is only a serial/Ethernet converter, like the plug in one for the CP1L.
It is annoying that they do not do the same think all the time. May have something to do with marketing?
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#8 Michael Walsh

Michael Walsh

    Omron Expert

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 449 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:31 PM

I wish they would settle on one protocol and stick with it!!

They have....FINS. :-D

All of the Ethernet and EtherNet/IP ports support The FINS protocol.
Michael
Charlotte, NC

#9 rodrgio

rodrgio

    Hi, I am New!

  • MrPLC Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 18 August 2013 - 11:01 AM

guys, thanks for the help.

#10 Crossbow

Crossbow

    Automation Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 18 August 2013 - 11:55 AM

Mendon, the CP is a lower model CPU than the CJ, so it does not have all the same capabilities.

#11 Mendon Systems

Mendon Systems

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 18 August 2013 - 12:47 PM

Mendon, the CP is a lower model CPU than the CJ, so it does not have all the same capabilities.

I am well aware of the model structure. My gripe is that no two models have exactly the same Ethernet configuration! It seems like Omron should be consistent between models.
The CP1IL-E (or better yet CP1H-E) would be an excellent solution to the notably missing remote I/O on the CJ2 IF it supported tag based data links.
Yes, I know it can be done with FINS, but it is a real PITA to do it!!
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users