Forums.MrPLC.com: Cx-Programmer & NB-Designer - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Cx-Programmer & NB-Designer Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   rodrgio 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal
HI

I have a CP1L-E and NB, and I can not make the communication between the two.
The question is, CX-Progammer is necessary to say that there is a NB?
For the NB gives this error (PLC Response Error)

Thanks a lot
0

#2
User is offline   BobB 

  • BobB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 1,648
  • Joined: 22-August 02
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia
You may have to set up the link in the PLC serial port with CX-P.
The serial port defaults to Host Link, 9600, 7,2,E.

This post has been edited by BobB: 15 August 2013 - 09:48 PM

The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image
0

#3
User is offline   rodrgio 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal
I have a connection for Ethernet IP, and this is for the Serial port 1 and 2
0

#4
User is offline   Mendon Systems 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: 18-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States
I don't think the CP1L-E supports Ethernet IP. You have to use FINS protocol.
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems
0

#5
User is offline   BobB 

  • BobB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 1,648
  • Joined: 22-August 02
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia
The serial ports do not use Ethernet at all - only Ethernet uses Ethernet.
My last post was for a serial connection.
Yes, if you want to use the Ethernet port it will have to be FINS/TCP connection.
The PLC defaults to 192.168.250.1.
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image
0

#6
User is offline   Mendon Systems 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: 18-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States
Bob, I thought that was how the -E that I installed a while ago worked, but didn't have a manual with me at the time.

I don't understand why Omron brought out new models that don't support Ethernet IP like the CJ2M does. I wish they would settle on one protocol and stick with it!!
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems
0

#7
User is offline   BobB 

  • BobB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 1,648
  • Joined: 22-August 02
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia
From what I am led to believe it is only a serial/Ethernet converter, like the plug in one for the CP1L.
It is annoying that they do not do the same think all the time. May have something to do with marketing?
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image
0

#8
User is offline   Michael Walsh 

  • Omron Expert
  • Group: MrPLC Admin
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 03-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Country:United States
    United States

 Mendon Systems, on 16 August 2013 - 08:22 PM, said:

I wish they would settle on one protocol and stick with it!!

They have....FINS. :-D

All of the Ethernet and EtherNet/IP ports support The FINS protocol.
Michael
Charlotte, NC
0

#9
User is offline   rodrgio 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Country:Portugal
    Portugal
guys, thanks for the help.
0

#10
User is offline   Crossbow 

  • Automation Engineer
  • Group: MrPLC Admin
  • Posts: 3,643
  • Joined: 30-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States
Mendon, the CP is a lower model CPU than the CJ, so it does not have all the same capabilities.
0

#11
User is offline   Mendon Systems 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: 18-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mendon, NY
  • Country:United States
    United States

 Crossbow, on 18 August 2013 - 11:55 AM, said:

Mendon, the CP is a lower model CPU than the CJ, so it does not have all the same capabilities.

I am well aware of the model structure. My gripe is that no two models have exactly the same Ethernet configuration! It seems like Omron should be consistent between models.
The CP1IL-E (or better yet CP1H-E) would be an excellent solution to the notably missing remote I/O on the CJ2 IF it supported tag based data links.
Yes, I know it can be done with FINS, but it is a real PITA to do it!!
Dick Oestreich
Mendon Systems
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users