Forums.MrPLC.com: Logix 5000 tag descriptions - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Logix 5000 tag descriptions Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   Hugo Brown 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 21-February 12
  • Country:United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
Hi Guys,
Is there any way in Control Logix 5000 for the description for each item in a User-Defined data type appear as the description of the tag in the declared tag? I just assumed this would happen automatically but it doesnít seem to.

See the attached pic for an example of what Iím on about; I have descriptions written for each of the two bools in my UDT but when I create a version of it the descriptions donít appear next to the actual tag??

Many thanks in advance if anyone can help with this.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: TagDescExample.JPG

0

#2
User is offline   Michael Lloyd 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 454
  • Joined: 30-December 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas
  • Interests:Photography, Long Rang Shooting, Reloading, Fishing, Hunting
  • Country:United States
    United States
You have go into the data tree, right click, and ??? It's not paste... I'm typing this on a cell phone and I don't have logix available... Anyway, you have to add them yourself but with a mouse click not by typing.

This is my biggest pet peave with logix. They could at least give us a paste all
I can generate numbers randomly
I have gotten good at fixing my screwups
I am highly skilled at screwing up. See line 2.
0

#3
User is offline   Hugo Brown 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 21-February 12
  • Country:United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
Seems they were there all along just hidden my the setting:

Tools -> Options -> Application -> Display -> Check: "Show Pass-Through Descriptions"

That was several hours of my life i'll never get back.
0

#4
User is offline   Shiner 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 286
  • Joined: 18-November 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston
  • Country:United States
    United States
[/quote]

That was several hours of my life i'll never get back.
[/quote]

Well someone else will undoubtedly be saved that several hours and someday someone else will recoup that for you
0

#5
User is offline   Veeger 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 02-February 02

View PostHugo Brown, on 09 March 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

Seems they were there all along just hidden my the setting:

Tools -> Options -> Application -> Display -> Check: "Show Pass-Through Descriptions"

That was several hours of my life i'll never get back.

Most of us have done them time will never get back searches and since I started new job where they have Control Logix 5000 present you just saved me the time figuring it out and I say
Thanks
0

#6
User is offline   Michael Lloyd 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 454
  • Joined: 30-December 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas
  • Interests:Photography, Long Rang Shooting, Reloading, Fishing, Hunting
  • Country:United States
    United States

View PostHugo Brown, on 09 March 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

Seems they were there all along just hidden my the setting:

Tools -> Options -> Application -> Display -> Check: "Show Pass-Through Descriptions"

That was several hours of my life i'll never get back.



Ah... you weren't seeing them at all. I misunderstood.

Notice that they don't show up in the docs if you export / import (I do 90% of my documentation in a CSV file). You have to Right- Click, Paste Pass-through to make them "really" be documented
I can generate numbers randomly
I have gotten good at fixing my screwups
I am highly skilled at screwing up. See line 2.
0

#7
User is offline   Hugo Brown 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 21-February 12
  • Country:United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Quote

Notice that they don't show up in the docs if you export / import (I do 90% of my documentation in a CSV file). You have to Right- Click, Paste Pass-through to make them "really" be documented


aha, that's going to be useful. Thanks
0

#8
User is offline   daba 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: 16-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannock, UK
  • Country:United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

View PostHugo Brown, on 09 March 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

Seems they were there all along just hidden my the setting:

Tools -> Options -> Application -> Display -> Check: "Show Pass-Through Descriptions"

That was several hours of my life i'll never get back.


And while you are checking this box, also check the sub-box below it. After that done you can add a description to a tag, and all the sub-elements get documented with that description, plus the description of the UDT elements. The documentation almost writes itself.....

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: 2012-03-13_011729.jpg

  • Former trainer with RA in UK. Now offering bespoke training in ControlLogix and SLC to any level. PM me for full details.
  • a-b train ltd. - ControlLogix & SLC500 Training
  • visit the web-site for more information and contact details
___________________________
Posted Image ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users