Forums.MrPLC.com: Unity Pro XL 5.0 and Windows Server 2008 R2 - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Unity Pro XL 5.0 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   kutuz 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 07-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Hi all!

I need to install UnityXL 5.0 on Windows Server 2008 R2 for Remote Desktop Users (Thin Clients). I installed UnityXL 5.0, but none of my Remote Desktop Users can run the software. They get an error:

>Failed to find a valid license!
>Unexpected Error: One or more of the license components could not be loaded.
>Please reinstall Unity Pro XL.

The software is registered, I can run it under a local admin account.

Does anybody know if there is something special how to install Unity Pro XL 5.0 on Windows Server 2008 R2 for RDP clients?

Thanks.
0

#2
User is offline   koyeap 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 14-December 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Malaysia
    Malaysia

View Postkutuz, on 20 July 2011 - 02:29 PM, said:

Hi all!

I need to install UnityXL 5.0 on Windows Server 2008 R2 for Remote Desktop Users (Thin Clients). I installed UnityXL 5.0, but none of my Remote Desktop Users can run the software. They get an error:

>Failed to find a valid license!
>Unexpected Error: One or more of the license components could not be loaded.
>Please reinstall Unity Pro XL.

The software is registered, I can run it under a local admin account.

Does anybody know if there is something special how to install Unity Pro XL 5.0 on Windows Server 2008 R2 for RDP clients?

Thanks.


Unity Pro software requires one of the following operating systems to be present on
the terminal:
􀁺 Windows XP Professional Edition SP2 and SP3
􀁺 Windows VISTA Business Edition 32 bits system
􀁺 Windows 7 Professional Edition 64 bits system

for detail, look in the attachment or google unitypro installation manual

Attached File(s)


0

#3
User is offline   kutuz 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 07-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Thanks, koyeap.
My system is Windows 2008 R2 which is not in the list. Though I tested Unity Pro on my test Server 2008 R2 machine and it worked fine.
The other thing is that under Remote Desktop if I run Unity Pro under different user (under admin account) it does not start the software and gives me the same error.
0

#4
User is offline   koyeap 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 14-December 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Malaysia
    Malaysia

View Postkutuz, on 21 July 2011 - 11:35 AM, said:

Thanks, koyeap.
My system is Windows 2008 R2 which is not in the list. Though I tested Unity Pro on my test Server 2008 R2 machine and it worked fine.
The other thing is that under Remote Desktop if I run Unity Pro under different user (under admin account) it does not start the software and gives me the same error.


When you install the software, is the terminal using admin user account?
"To install the Unity Pro software, you must have the administrator privileges on the workstation."
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users