Forums.MrPLC.com: Data Files Import in RSlogix500 - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Data Files Import in RSlogix500 Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   pramod biradar 

  • Newbie
  • PipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 13-January 10
  • Country:India
    India
Hello Everyone!
In RSLogix 500, is data files import is possible in any way?
for ex. I am working on a program 1.And program 2 has some data files which are required in program 1.
Now can I copy paste or import particular data files from program 2 to program 1?
I tried copy and paste but descriptions will not be copied.
Best option I thought is create data files in program 1.Export the program 2 data files to CSV.Import required data files in program 1.
Can some one suggest?
0

#2
User is offline   BobLfoot 

  • The Wizard
  • Group: MrPLC Admin
  • Posts: 3,149
  • Joined: 27-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Indiana
  • Country:United States
    United States

 pramod biradar, on 09 June 2011 - 01:08 AM, said:

Hello Everyone!
In RSLogix 500, is data files import is possible in any way?
for ex. I am working on a program 1.And program 2 has some data files which are required in program 1.
Now can I copy paste or import particular data files from program 2 to program 1?
I tried copy and paste but descriptions will not be copied.
Best option I thought is create data files in program 1.Export the program 2 data files to CSV.Import required data files in program 1.
Can some one suggest?

If you're working with RSlogix 500 and a program not yet loaded to PLC then CSV Export/Import is your best bet.

If you have both PLC1 and PLC2 live and avaialble then OPC transfer of Data can occure from PLC to PLC thru an OPC server app on your PC.
BobLfoot

"Poor Planning on your part does not a crisis on my part make"
0

#3
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States
If you open two instances of RSLogix500, you can drag and drop data files from one program to the other and you will get the data included. You have to drag and drop the data file on top of an existing data file. This lets you copy data from, for example, N10 in one program to N27 in the other. If you want them to be the same file number, then create the data file in the 2nd program first (don't worry about size, it will be extended to match the 1st when you drop the data into place).

This does not appear to work with the pre-defined data files, only with those after file 9. If you want data from N7 in one program, drop it into a new file (like N10) in the new one, then you can copy and paste from N10 into N7 in the new one. I just noticed this today, and that workaround took care of it.

Also, does not get the descriptions, but those can be copied from the database as you have already learned using export, (edit with excel), import. Also, you can drag and drop groups of descriptions from within RSLogix (see my next post).

Attached File(s)


This post has been edited by OkiePC: 10 June 2011 - 07:03 PM

0

#4
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States
Playin with cam studio some more:

Attached File(s)


0

#5
User is offline   Bob O 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 479
  • Joined: 16-March 05
  • Country:United States
    United States
Thanks Paul..I never knew you could do that.
0

#6
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States

 Bob O, on 11 June 2011 - 05:50 AM, said:

Thanks Paul..I never knew you could do that.


You're Welcome, Bob!
0

#7
User is offline   pramod biradar 

  • Newbie
  • PipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 13-January 10
  • Country:India
    India
Thanks a lot
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users