Forums.MrPLC.com: SLC 5/03 online programming - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

SLC 5/03 online programming Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   mlepine 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 09-April 09
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Hi everybody,

I would like to know if is it possible to make online programming on an SLC 5/03. If it so how we do that

Regards
0

#2
User is offline   Armadillo852 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: 09-October 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greenville, SC
  • Country:United States
    United States

View Postmlepine, on Dec 10 2009, 02:02 PM, said:

Hi everybody,

I would like to know if is it possible to make online programming on an SLC 5/03. If it so how we do that

Regards



Yes it is possible to make online changes with a SLC 5/03.

Once online, either double click the rung you want to modify or else right click on the rung you want to modify and select "modify rung."
Then make changes
Accept changes
test changes
assemble edits

Forgot, make sure the key is in the remote position.

This post has been edited by Armadillo852: 10 December 2009 - 03:16 PM

0

#3
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada

View PostArmadillo852, on Dec 10 2009, 03:14 PM, said:

Yes it is possible to make online changes with a SLC 5/03.

Early OS versions of SLC5/03 did not support online editing, indirect addressing and floating point.
0

#4
User is offline   JLDrescher 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 10-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cartersville, Georgia AB/INBEV
  • Country:United States
    United States

View Postmlepine, on Dec 10 2009, 03:02 PM, said:

Hi everybody,

I would like to know if is it possible to make online programming on an SLC 5/03. If it so how we do that

Regards



RSLogix-500 Starter Version Will Not Do Online, Will Have To Upgrade To Next Level, Not Sure What Cost Will Be.
I'am Using The Starter Version Myself
0

#5
User is offline   slcman 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: 24-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
One thing to add: while you do online edit, you cannot expands data aera, for example if the B3 file is from B3:0 to B3:10 you will not be able to use bit B3:11/0. You must expands adress aera by download only. Tip: when you do a program, use a bit like B3:100/0 and delete it. RS500 left available memory up to B3:100 you you'll be able tu use more bit in online edit. You can do same thing for N, F, timer, counter, ect...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SLCMAN
0

#6
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States
You can mark the file so it won't get shrunk too, but I often use the last bit in a binary file as a rung comment. I have been told, (but have no proof) that this is a waste of CPU time, increasing scan time, and this may be true especially in older slower systems, but it is fool proof. To mark off a block that you want to show as used, perhaps there is not any PLC logic using it directly, perhaps it comes from an hmi and is read using file indirect addressing. To force that area to show up as used in the data file, you can copy it to itself in a spare ladder file and you don't even have to call the file. Put a rung comment explaining why you are copy four files with 8 rungs with source as destination having the same addresses...no scan time hit, the PLC never jumps to this file, but RSLogix500 will respect it when you change processor types and it offers to delete your spares for you, or when it offers up the next available address when you enter code.

This post has been edited by OkiePC: 21 August 2012 - 10:01 PM

0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users