Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Import Logix 5000 csv tag file into FT View ME 5.0

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ianbuckley

ianbuckley

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 03 March 2009 - 06:39 PM

I have an RS Logix 5000 tag file built up for my application. I used the export tool to create a ".csv" file of tag data. I can't seem to figure out how to import the .csv file into my FT View ME application. I tried looking at the knowledgebase, but I don't have a support contract and everything that looks promising is blocked. I don't have the hardware here, so I can't browse to the PLC. Do I just have to wait until startup to finish the communication setup and connections to the tags?

Thanks for any help.
Ian

Attached Files

  • Attached File  Tags.zip   6.25KB   433 downloads


#2 ElecPneuGuy

ElecPneuGuy

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lansing, MI
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 03 March 2009 - 09:06 PM

I haven't done it before, usually just have done it online.

From the Rockwell boys, sounds like you need the Tag Import Utility.


1) Start the RSLogix 5000 Tag Import utility located at Start > Programs > Rockwell Software > Logix5000 Tag Import Utility > Logix5000 Tag Import
2) Select Create RSView tag CSV file. (This is the default selection.)
3) Select FactoryTalk® View Site/Machine Edition, RSView32 version 7.0 or later versions, RSView32 version 6.5 or previous versions. If FactoryTalk® View Site/Machine Edition is selected, please skip step 4 and step 5.
4) Type in the name of the node to use when creating tags.
5) Select a scan class.
6) Click Configure to choose which tag types will be visible in the tag list.
7) Click Browse and select the L5K file that was exported earlier.
8) Click Search or type characters in the filter to reduce the number of tags displayed.
9) Select the tags to be imported and then click OK.
10) In the Save As window, specify a CSV file to save the tags to and click OK.
11) Use the Import and Export utility to import the CSV file into your project.
12) For RSView32, select Start > Programs > Rockwell Software > RSView32 Tools > Database Import and Export Wizard.
13) For FactoryTalk® View Studio, select Start > Programs > Rockwell Software > RSView Enterprise > Tools > Tag Import and Export Wizard.

#3 Ken Roach

Ken Roach

    Propeller Head

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts

Posted 03 March 2009 - 11:26 PM

Most FTView ME applications use "Direct Reference" tags, like you're accustomed to browsing directly to the physical controller for.

You can also browse to them directly out of the RSLogix 5000 *.ACD file; it's the "Offline" folder that shows up once you associate the RSLinx Enterprise shortcut with an *.ACD file.

You do not need to export or import or manipulate them at all.

The trick is that you need to create a Shortcut that points to a controller, even if that controller doesn't exist on the network.

In RSLinx Enterprise, you can right-click and create a network module, then a controller, to point your shortcut to. RSLinx Enterprise will create and delete devices that it discovers automatically, but ones you manually create persist until you delete them.

#4 ianbuckley

ianbuckley

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 04 March 2009 - 07:11 PM

Most FTView ME applications use "Direct Reference" tags, like you're accustomed to browsing directly to the physical controller for.

You can also browse to them directly out of the RSLogix 5000 *.ACD file; it's the "Offline" folder that shows up once you associate the RSLinx Enterprise shortcut with an *.ACD file.

You do not need to export or import or manipulate them at all.

The trick is that you need to create a Shortcut that points to a controller, even if that controller doesn't exist on the network.

In RSLinx Enterprise, you can right-click and create a network module, then a controller, to point your shortcut to. RSLinx Enterprise will create and delete devices that it discovers automatically, but ones you manually create persist until you delete them.



This sounds like what I want, but when I try to create a shortcut, I cannot find the 1769-L23E in the list. I see the 1769-L32E and the 1769-L35E, but not the 1769-L23E. I am using a 1769-L23E-QBFC1 (new package CompactLogix). Is there a different way to access the -L23E?

I set the off-line tag file to my Compactlogix program in RSLinx Enterprise, but when I open the tag editor, it is still empty other than the system tags. I did not set up the shortcut, because I don't know what to use. Is this why the tags don't show up?

Thanks for the help guys.

Ian

#5 ianbuckley

ianbuckley

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 09 March 2009 - 12:24 PM

I ended up having to update the Factory Talk View. The CD package was brand new to us, but apparently had been on the shelf somewhere for a while. Four downloads and three reboots later, I was able to add a shortcut to the 1769-L23E, which allowed me to use the tag file from the Logix 5000 project.

I should also add that they mean it when they say the tag file cannot be on a network path location. I have a drive mapped, so it was looking at the w: drive of my desktop, but it didn't work until I copied the 5000 project onto the local hard drive.

Thanks for your help guys.

#6 damaged

damaged

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 08 May 2009 - 10:00 AM

Can you elaborate on what you had to do to get the tags to show?

I have a similar situation:

FT Studio 5 (CPR9)
1756-L55/A Controller

I have configured shortcuts to the controller and to the offline tag file, and I still dont see the tags in the tag Folder.

I must confess this is my first FT Studio project. I am familiar with PV 32 and others but FT Studio is throwing me under the bus.

#7 ianbuckley

ianbuckley

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 08 May 2009 - 10:43 AM

The printout I have does not have the whole web address, but the topic is Answer ID 54104 in the Rockwell Automation Knowledge Base. It details upgrading to Consolidated Product Release 9, Service Release 1. There are a fair number of hoops to jump through, but it was the only way to get FT View to acknowledge the PLC I was using. Once View recognized the PLC, setting up the shortcuts and offline file worked as described in the Help.

#8 scottmurphy

scottmurphy

    Out of Control

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Country:New Zealand
    New Zealand

Posted 08 May 2009 - 07:43 PM

I would suggest forgetting about HMI tags and using direct referencing.

HMI tags add to your application size, and are also slower than Direct Referencing.

Just my 2c.

#9 damaged

damaged

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 11 May 2009 - 07:56 AM

The printout I have does not have the whole web address, but the topic is Answer ID 54104 in the Rockwell Automation Knowledge Base. It details upgrading to Consolidated Product Release 9, Service Release 1. There are a fair number of hoops to jump through, but it was the only way to get FT View to acknowledge the PLC I was using. Once View recognized the PLC, setting up the shortcuts and offline file worked as described in the Help.


Thanks, I am on it now...

#10 ianbuckley

ianbuckley

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 12 May 2009 - 11:33 AM

scottmurphy,

I was trying to use direct referencing tags using the offline folder of a shortcut to the PLC .ACD file. The problem was that FTView did not acknowledge the PLC I was using. I had to update FTView in order for the offline shortcut to work.

Ian




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users