Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

HMI programming software


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 JeffKiper

JeffKiper

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Southern IN
  • Interests:Family
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 06 June 2008 - 09:43 PM

Sorry I am an AB guy that got a call to reverse engineer a program so please be easy on me.
1 I need to get the program out of the HMI model A870 GOT. I hope that is the number. It was on the bezel of the screen. Is that a option? If so what software do I need to BUY? I am hoping it will have a tag database or some info that may be helpful in me quest.

2 I worked for this plant several years ago so they had the GX dev. software I downloaded the program from the A2AS #??? I have a set of documented elctrical prints so the real I/O will be easy to find out. Does anybody have a pointer or 2 for doing this?
JAK

"Nothing counts as much as blood. The rest are just strangers"

#2 Crossbow

Crossbow

    Automation Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 07 June 2008 - 10:31 AM

The A800 family was only programmed with an old DOS software, which does not work at all under Windows. There is a free package from Mitsubishi which can be used to upload and download programs. Once you upload it, you can use the GT-Converter2 software to convert it forward to the A900 or GOT1000 family. Then you can view it in GT-Designers. Both packages (and GT-Simulator2) are part of a package called GT-Works2. The cable for programming should be AC30R2-25P or something like that. Simple RS232 with 25-pin. I might have pinouts for the cable.

#3 JeffKiper

JeffKiper

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Southern IN
  • Interests:Family
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 08 June 2008 - 06:55 PM

Crossbow Thanks for your time. Sorry for the delay I was on the lake with the family.
With the new software can I make changes to the project file the convert back to the old 800?
Is there any chance that the OEM locked or only loaded part of the project? I have never worked with any of the Mitz. I have worked with some of the old ProFace screens that you could only load part of the project into so no-one esle could copy your work. Just looking for pitfalls before I place a bid. Any pointer are welcomed
JAK

"Nothing counts as much as blood. The rest are just strangers"

#4 Crossbow

Crossbow

    Automation Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 09 June 2008 - 12:25 PM

The software is designed for converting the old obsolete stuff forward, not the other way.

Other than a password to protect it, there was no intellectual property protection in those that I am aware of. Of course, they are from before I became involved with the Mitsubishi products and so not one of my strongest points.

#5 damaged

damaged

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 30 October 2008 - 10:22 PM

The 800 series GOT are not DOS based systems. As a matter of fact, the are not far from the 900 series GOT. I can get you the exact software info, but I dont have the informaton in front of me right now.

Are you trying to modify an existing 800 Series GOT or are you trying to install a newer series GOT and would like to use the base that the 800 series has already built in.

I have done this before. Went from and 800 series GOT to a 900 series.

Please get let me know exactly what you are trying to do.

#6 JeffKiper

JeffKiper

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Southern IN
  • Interests:Family
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 30 October 2008 - 10:43 PM

I need to get the tag database out of the screen to reverse document a program.
JAK

"Nothing counts as much as blood. The rest are just strangers"

#7 larry818

larry818

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:Fullerton
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 30 October 2008 - 11:36 PM

I need to get the tag database out of the screen to reverse document a program.


As I recall, and it's been 10 years, the software ran under win95. At least the software I had did, it wasn't dos. It needed windows for the gui. Somewhere I have the original 3.5" floppies.

The cable to program it is dependent on the interface that's installed. I always used the MelsecnetII interface and it was programmed over that.

There probably won't be a tag database in the screen. I think you could upload it, but no one ever did. There is a "ladder monitor" mode built into the A870 which will show the tags if they are there. You could try that first.

#8 Crossbow

Crossbow

    Automation Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 31 October 2008 - 06:21 AM

Have you tried the free GOT Data Transfer Tool to get the program out of the GOT? Then in GT Converter2 you can change the type to A900 or GOT1000 and have the program in a format which can be opened in GT Works2.

#9 damaged

damaged

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 31 October 2008 - 08:34 AM

I hope I dont offend anyone, but Mitsu has a crappy website, so I coundnt find the Free Download. Crossbow could you provide a link and maybe a cable pin out diagram?

But Crossbow is right, if there is a free DL to extract the Program out of the GOT then you could convert it to a GT file, and have a better chance that someone will have GT works so you could have some one print that data for you.

Edited by damaged, 31 October 2008 - 08:34 AM.


#10 Crossbow

Crossbow

    Automation Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edge of Insanity
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 02 November 2008 - 01:14 PM

Go to www.meau.com

Select Downloads
Select Software
In the hierarchy, select Industrial Automation and click search
GOT Data Transfer Tool will be on the list.

Not sure how much easier they can make that...

#11 damaged

damaged

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 02 November 2008 - 09:06 PM

You are right Crossbow, cant get any easier than that....Thanks. I did the stupid thing by putting HMI in the Family and A800 as the Series.

Got a link to the Pin Out for the cable?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users