Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Password problem

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 03:46 AM

I have forgotten the user name and password of Factory Talk network directory on my laptop. Hence am unable to log on to factory talk to open RSViewSE Distributed for an appication I need to modify. Any workaround for this? Can I un-install / re-install any software to work around this? And if so then what components of RSViewSE / Factory Talk need to be re-installed? I had a similar problem about 6 months back. As my Laptop was getting extra RAM at the time I just formatted the system and installed everything again, but would hate to do the format this time. Thanks in advance guys.
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#2 rpraveenkum

rpraveenkum

    Project Lead - Controls

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Chennai
  • Interests:PLC....PLC.....PLC
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:18 AM

Post the page where the password is prompting

Cannot get past the Configure Administrator Account in FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard.When running the FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard, you cannot get past the configure administrator account. The user name and passw

Question
Cannot get past the Configure Administrator Account in FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard

Answer

Problem: When running the FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard, you cannot get past the configure administrator account. The user name and password are entered, and the Next button is selected, but the wizard doesn't continue. This typically occurs during the FactoryTalk installation.
Cause: For unknown reasons, Microsoft DLL, which the wizard uses, have been unregistered.
Verify:
Cure: Re-register the following DLLs, located in the Windows\System32 directory

OLE32.dll
Actxprxy.dll
Msxml.dll
Msxml3.dll



http://rockwellautom...amp;p_topview=1
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu

Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen

#3 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:25 AM

Post the page where the password is prompting

Cannot get past the Configure Administrator Account in FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard.When running the FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard, you cannot get past the configure administrator account. The user name and passw

Question
Cannot get past the Configure Administrator Account in FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard

Answer

Problem: When running the FactoryTalk Directory Configuration Wizard, you cannot get past the configure administrator account. The user name and password are entered, and the Next button is selected, but the wizard doesn't continue. This typically occurs during the FactoryTalk installation.
Cause: For unknown reasons, Microsoft DLL, which the wizard uses, have been unregistered.
Verify:
Cure: Re-register the following DLLs, located in the Windows\System32 directory

OLE32.dll
Actxprxy.dll
Msxml.dll
Msxml3.dll



http://rockwellautom...amp;p_topview=1


Thanks will try the above and get back.
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#4 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:35 AM

Picture3.jpg

This is the message I am getting. I do not remember the user name or password. On trying the ones I think I would have used I get the message : "unable to authenticate user".
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#5 BobLfoot

BobLfoot

    The Wizard

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3160 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern Indiana
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:45 AM

At this point it would be advisable to Contact your Rockwell Representative since discussion of password cracks and work arounds is contrary to mrplc policy.

Knowledgebase Answer ID 36776 has a patch which might help as well. it starts out as follows:
"When a login to the FactoryTalk Administration Console or RSView Studio fails, the only message displayed to the user is Unable to Authenticate User. No reason is given. There is also no reason logged to FactoryTalk Diagnostics. A failure will be logged as Login failure of user [UserName] on directory [Network]"
BobLfoot

"Poor Planning on your part does not a crisis on my part make"

#6 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 04:59 AM

At this point it would be advisable to Contact your Rockwell Representative since discussion of password cracks and work arounds is contrary to mrplc policy.

Knowledgebase Answer ID 36776 has a patch which might help as well. it starts out as follows:
"When a login to the FactoryTalk Administration Console or RSView Studio fails, the only message displayed to the user is Unable to Authenticate User. No reason is given. There is also no reason logged to FactoryTalk Diagnostics. A failure will be logged as Login failure of user [UserName] on directory [Network]"


To clarify, I am not looking for any hacker type solutions. I have simply forgotten the user name / password of factory talk network directory. For this reason I cannot open SE Distributed. My simple options are:

1. To re-install all components of RSViewSE including Factory Talk and re-register network directory name n pwd. I do not know if this will work as I have not done this before.

2. To format my laptop and install SE again. I am sure if this will work as I have done this before. But I would hate to do this right now as my laptop is set up perfectly and only SE distributed is not working on it. Everything else is working fine. This is my last option and I want to make sure this is the only option left before pursuing it.

Thanks.
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#7 rpraveenkum

rpraveenkum

    Project Lead - Controls

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Chennai
  • Interests:PLC....PLC.....PLC
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 05:10 AM

what version rsview studio se you are using?
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu

Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen

#8 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 05:20 AM

what version rsview studio se you are using?


RSView SE Studio Version 4.00 CPR7
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#9 rpraveenkum

rpraveenkum

    Project Lead - Controls

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Chennai
  • Interests:PLC....PLC.....PLC
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 05:24 AM

Try this link

http://rockwellautom...amp;p_topview=1
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu

Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen

#10 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 03 January 2007 - 05:30 AM

Try this link

http://rockwellautom...amp;p_topview=1


Thanks. Will try and let you know.
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#11 manav

manav

    Software Therapist

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:New Delhi
  • Interests:Unboring myself.
  • Country:India
    India

Posted 04 January 2007 - 02:06 AM

Got the user name and passsword thru hit n trial. So no prob there. Thanks for all the help!!
MANAV KALIA

When Systems work in an Un-Systematic manner, it is time to call it a day.

#12 Donovanr

Donovanr

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Auckland
  • Country:New Zealand
    New Zealand

Posted 30 January 2008 - 03:58 AM

Try this link

http://rockwellautom...amp;p_topview=1



Hi rpraveenkum

On my laptop i had a temporary activation of RSview ME 4.0 installed by a rockwell rep who has since left...
I do not know what the Username and PW that was used to Log On to Factory talk???

When V4.0 was installed the computers name is different to what it currently is called now.

I have now purchased the latest V5.0 and tried to install but i come up with the following pop up once RS View Studio had been opened.

"RSLinx Enterprise"
Computer X does not exist in the FactoryTalk Directory.Contact your Administrator for more information???? (X = the new name of my laptop)


I have uninstalled the software from my Laptop using the uninstall from the software disk and have tried deleting the .dll files etc from your past forum posts.

For some reason it is still looking at the Old username and from the previous install..

Do you have any suggestions?

#13 Ken Roach

Ken Roach

    Propeller Head

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 11:25 AM

The surest way to render the FactoryTalk directory unusable is to change the computer name after FactoryTalk is installed, or to move the computer onto a Windows Domain after FactoryTalk is installed.

RA Technical Support is familiar with the resolution for both of those problems, and is also capable of providing lost FactoryTalk usernames and passwords.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users