Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rswolff

Siemens

12 posts in this topic

I've used Mitsubishi, Fuji, ABB, Omron, AutomationDirect, GE, Modicon, Siemens, and Allen-Bradley. When someone uses a Siemens I just smile and wonder.....'WHY?' are you an imbecile? bizzare software.....incredibly difficult documentation and tech support that wonders why I haven't moved to Frankfurt, read 10 millions pages of nearly useless reference material, and studied the input module electronics for a minimum of 3 years before I ask a question. Only thing worse was Modicons 'dim awareness'......

Beyond you is it? Stick to lego or something down to your intellect. http://engineering.electrical-equipment.org/electrical-distribution/the-top-most-used-plc-systems-around-the-world.html Edited by Groo

Groo Here is something really funny http://www.guru.com/freelancers/rswolff And he is freelance programmer. :) That's a joke

Actually I am not a freelance programmer......I have no idea where or what the GURU stuff is......I own my own Integration and Automation company....been in business for 14 years.....been doing this for close to 30...... SIEMENS is not 'above' or 'below' me.....its simply problematic to work with.....I've also been to several plants in Germany....and remarkably the German engineers I worked with had similar issues.....bad documentation.....strange instructions....nasty technical support...if I wanted to do things the same as we did 20 years ago (think BCD math and no Floating point numbers) I'd go to EBAY and buy an old Allen-Bradley PLC2.....or buy a SIEMENS S7 since the programming hasn't changed in at least that long. and I don't use LEGO's....or LOGO's.....