Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
theripley

SDK

10 posts in this topic

Hi. A new client have a requirement for an automated system, which involves plc programming & computer programming (for automatic inventory system). They wanted us to do the plc programming (easy for us), and they hired a separate team for the computer programming. The computer programming team requires us to do an sdk so they can link our program to their inventory system. I have never tried it before, but I am sure someone in here knows a lot about it. Please enlighten me about this sdk-making-scenario. Thank you.

SDK is a software development kit, and it's a library of ready-made functions for a computer programming language (VB.net, C++, etc.) to interface with a specific piece of software or hardware. There is a Mitsubishi protocol manual that you can use to build your own library, but that would take a lot of engineering time. What you are need for is MX Components from Mitsubishi.

This MX components is the library for the sdk this client is requiring? I just have to buy it & give it to the computer programming team. Is that all?

Correct regarding the MX Components. That's easier and most likely cheaper than spending a lot of hours on creating or implementing a software developed protocol. As an alternative, you could use a ModbusTCP card in the PLC, and specify that to the computer developers. There's a lot of ModbusTCP computer implementations on the internet, and a ModbusTCP card is pretty easliy configured on the PLC side.

kaare_t, He did not say which Mitsubishi PLC. They don't have ModbusTCP for all of them. And in the case of the Q Series, that card is far more expensive than MX Component.

I have read that MX components supports vba, visual basic & c++. Does it support .net applications as well?

Have anyone heard of AdvancedHMI? Have you used it to interface with Mitsubishi PLC?