Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JeffKiper

RIO to Ethernet IP conversion

3 posts in this topic

OK I have several drives on AB RIO. We are looking for replacements I am thinking Ethernet IP for comms. So how do I compare RIO token ring to EIP speeds? I asked my local AB tech support and he said let the EIP run as fast as it can. I really liked that technical answer. I think my 4 year old could have offered that.

I am not an expert in networking, but here is how I understand it... If, you are talking about the exact same data (blocks of addresses) to the same PLC with the same ladder logic, then the theoretical values look something like this: Data Rates RIO 230,400 baud (in this case, equals bits/per second) EIP 100,000,000 bits/second EIP is ~ 434 times faster in data transfer than RIO (bits per second). But in the real world, it doesn't quite work like that. Ethernet packets have overhead (TCP/IP) to help route packets to right place, and error checking, etc. Making a wildly conservative estimate, let's say that you only get 25% of the bandwidth for actual data transfer. That still makes EIP about 100 times faster than RIO, for a single point to point communication line. Network Bandwidth Like talking on the telphone to a friend, it doesn't work well when both talk at the same time. You have to share the line. If you daisy chain devices (more than a total of 2), then any RIO device added starts to eat up some of that bandwidth. Token ring "passes" the authority on to who can talk at that time. ex. Device A talks to Device B When Device C talks to Device D, it takes available network bandwidth from Device A and B. Communications from A to B would never realize the full 230,400 data rate. With ethernet, if you use a router it can separate traffic between devices/ports. Only traffic to common devices would go on the same wire (ex. multiple HMIs talking to a single PLC. The PLC enet link would see all the traffic on one line, but each HMI would only see its own