Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tgorupMFT

help with a fault on SLC-5/03

14 posts in this topic

Hope someone here can give me a hand, I'm new to this stuff and do not have any real training, so go easy on me. Ok, here is my problem. I got 5 AB SLC 5/03 systems running that are networked together by DH-485 link couplers. 4 of them are robotic cells the other is a parts conveyor. All of a sudden one of the robot PLCs will fault and shut down. It only happens when its time for it to unload into the parts conveyor, before then everything is fine. We had this problem once befor and the SLC 5/03 CPU was swapped out and it worked again, well I tried that this time and still the same thing happens. Does anybody have any suggestions? Thanks

The first thing you need to do is go online with the faulted processor and see what the fault code is.

Ok, here is what it said. Major Error Halt S:1/13= 1 Math Overflow Trap S:5/0= 1 Error Description A minor error bit is set at the end of the scan. Refer to S:5 minor error bits.

In some of the SLCs (5/04 was the last) I've had a problem with the Math Overflow Trap setting for no clear reason so I put a "OTU S:5/0" rung at the very end of the scan and it takes care of it.

To the bes of my knowledge all the SLC's will fault for a math overflow, depending on the application, you may or maynot want the processor to fault, I use the following code to reset the fault bit and capture it with a fault flag, you can then use the flag to record the fault, take action etc....