Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sharkster411

1747-SN Remote I/O M-File "mapping"?

2 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm working with some old Allen-Bradley SLC5/04 systems with 1747-SN modules. The module is located in Slot1. One system is only using the RIO module for a PV1000. How do you know where the "M-Files" for Analog I/O modules and/or Panelviews are located? I see programming using locations such as: M1:1.810 where 60 words are being copied from a Remote I/O PV1000 to some words for the SLC to utilize, but I don't understand why "M1:1.810" was used instead of, for example, "M1:1.800"? I looked and so far cannot find information pertaining to the words other than what is in the User's manual, and it doesn't address this issue. The panelview in my example uses all of Logical Rack 0, Full Rack addressing. Any help would be most appreciated. I have very little experience with the RIO stuff because almost everything I've worked with in the past has been Devicenet.