Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
swanryan81

Powerflex 40 Amperage

6 posts in this topic

I am very new to profibus and was wondering if it was possible to get a Powerflex 40 VFD amperage over profibus using RsLogix 5000. Trying to set up some high amp alarms for my facility and cant seem to find good information anywhere. Any information is appreciated! Thanks!

In the Powerflex 40 manual, page 48: http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/22b-um001_-en-e.pdf It looks like Output Current is Parameter d003, I think this is the parameter you need. I have never used Profibus myself. On pg. 112 in the manual, it says you need adapter 22-COMM-P for your Powerflex to give it Profibus capability. Does your drive already have that?

Thank you for the reply. I should have been more informative. Yes all of my facilities VFD are currently connected through profibus to either a controllogix 5000 cpu using a profibus module or a compatlogix using a profibus module. Edited by swanryan81

Bump

I do not have RSLogix5000 myself currently, but I remember configuring a Powerflex drive some time ago thru RSLogix5000. When you open the RSLogix5000 project, look on the left hand side under the Project Organizer. Do you see the drive there? I believe you have to right click on the drive and select Properties. You will get a popup window with multiple tabs. Under one of the tabs, you should be able to see which drive parameters are currently being transmitted. These are called "datalinks". You should be able to add additional parameters (in your case, Current). I'm sorry that I can't be more of help, like I said I do not have access to RSLogix5000 currently. If you are able to call Rockwell tech support or use the Rockwell Knowledge Base, ask them about datalinks and say you want to transmit an additional drive parameter over Profibus.