Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jcole1

Allen Bradley Addressing

7 posts in this topic

I am a beginner. I am looking for some help on indirect and indexed addressing on some of the Allen Bradley SLC 500 processors. Maybe some examples? Thanks.

You can download an example of indirect addressing here: http://forums.mrplc.com/index.php?act=Downl...&CODE=02&id=339

Assuming you know what indexed and indirect addressing are then ... indexed addressing uses S:24 and the index. To index an address by word (not files) the use w.g #N7:3. N7:3 addresses the value at N7:3. #N7:3 addresses the value at N7: (S:24 + 3) where 3 is a constant Indexing files is not possible. Use example Mov N7:0 S:24 to set the index register. indirect addressing can index files and words and bits. Use N7:6/[N7:5] to access word 6 and the bit pointed to by N7:5 Use N7:[N7:4]/3 to access bit 3 of the word pointed to by N7:4 Use N[N7:2]:1/3 to access the bit 3 of word 1 pointed to by N7:2 Any combination of the above is possible, e.g. N[N7:2]:[N7:4]/[N7:5] (usually) Using indexing is also possible e.g. #N7:6/[N7:5] gives the bit in file N7 at word (S:24+6) and the bit pointed to by N7:5 The file type pointed to (e.g. N7:2 above) must be of the same type. Thats about all there is to it except they are slow and avoid indirect addressing if possible. Edited by Spedley

Thanks for the reply. Can you explain what you mean by "index" and how it relates to S:24. Also why do you not recommend indirect addressing? One more question. I was told everytime you see the pound sign (#) in an address it meant it was an indexed address. I also read it meant it was a file indicator for the address. Which is it? Can you clear this up for me?