Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jazzplayermark

Looking for PanelView suggestions

8 posts in this topic

I have a customer that insists on me using a panelview for his project and I have basically no experience with them. I have been using another brand exclusively for many years so I'm well versed in how to use an HMI, just not Allen Bradley.

I'm hoping to get some advice about which unit to use. The system is a simple waste water facility and the controller will likely be a micrologix 1400. The customer wants something in the 15" range. Looking on the AB website I see Plus 6 & Plus 7 both seem to give me that size. Are major differences that I should know about?

thanks

If it’s likely to get water spray and these are the choices, I would choose the 6. The display is replaceable while keeping the logic module. I've replaced several screens in a washdown environment. A logic module hasn’t failed yet. A display swap is quick and easy.

I would choose the 7 for a dry or damp area. The plastic cam locks seal the unit to the panel well enough, but I don’t perceive it as secure as the screw clamps of the 6. It’s the current model and cheaper. A backup of the application on a USB stick can be copied to a new unit, provided the firmware version matches.

If you’re new to FactoryTalk View for this, I expect you to quickly develop a strong dislike for it. I’m getting used to it now but it really makes me appreciate others.

Consider proposing a PV800 as an additional cheaper choice to the customer, especially if using a ML1400. I like it as a simpler cheaper alternative to 6/7 where it can be used. It’s developed with free CCW. Unfortunately the largest size is 10.4”. It doesn’t have all the features like parameter passing but for simple I/O interface I think it’s great.

Know how you want to connect, serial or ethernet when ordering. Either works fine.

Second guessing myself...the 6 doesn’t withstand direct spray very well. Maybe the 7 would be better?