andre_teprom

Is there any metrics for performance comparison of PLCs?

5 posts in this topic

As I am relatively new to the PLC world (I worked with only one brand), and I will probably go to "Hannover Messe 2019", I would like to be able to quantitatively evaluate the performance of other PLCs compared to the one I currently use. One of the reasons for my trip will be to analyze other up to date available solutions. I-m not concerned about costs (software licensing, hardware price, etc ...), I'm more interested to focus on the performance aspects.

Is there any standardized or common use metrics for performance comparison of PLCs from different manufacturers ?

What performance factor is so critical that you'll travel 1/3 way around the world to find an alternative to what you're using now? 

What does your current vendor suggest for upgraded performance?

In answer to your question, I'm unaware of any standard of comparison.  But I can understand why - so much of PLC's performance is related to how it is programmed.

1 person likes this

As for your recommendation to ask for such an advice to the manufacturer of the products I currently use, I don't think they would kindly give it, as they have their own metrics whose criteria for computing it are not disclosed; moreover, I could not find anywhere else their grades, therefore it would not be helpful to use a proprietary scale parameters to compare with products from other manufacturers. 

As for the usefulness to go to that event, as stated above, seeking for news is just 'one' of the reasons, therefore this is not a waste of money and time, otherwise there would be no reason for manufacturers to invest in events like those, but this is getting off topic.