Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bagged2drag

Function Blocks and Data logging to CSV

4 posts in this topic

2 subjects here.  

First, I am pretty new to function blocks.  I somewhat get that you can create a function block and use it in multiple places to control similar functions.  I am working on a program that someone else created.  It uses a function block to control a variety of servos.  What I don't quite understand is how it is determined what outputs to use.   The system uses profinet.   I watched a couple videos, but they really didn't explain anything....they just showed how to make a simple function block with no dialogue. 

More importantly. and unrelated, I need to somehow export some data (scrap and production counts) to a CSV or via ftp to a computer.    I am using TIA Portal V13 with WinCC Comfort.    I've done similar functions in the past using Automation Direct and Proface HMI's, and they were much more intuitive than the Siemens. 

Thanks,

I really hope I don't mess this up, but this is my understanding of FB's. I have not used TIA Portal specifically, but as I understand it, it is just a suite containing the various Siemens' software (Simatic Step 7 Manager, STARTER, etc.)

After you have created an FB in Simatic Manager via Insert Object -> Function Block, you can open the newly created FB and begin coding in it. Once inside the new FB, there is a Declaration Table at the top of the page with In, Out, In/Out, Temp, Stat variable trees. This is where you label and define the generic variables to be used inside the FB for processing.