Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Spanish_Student

Scada software extensions?

7 posts in this topic

Hello there, as my name says I'm a Student from Spain who is right now dabbling in home automation. I have been assigned to make a presentation about SCADA and while information about the software is plenty I'm having trouble to find the extension it uses to save the configurations of the systems. I don't know if I'm explaining myself properly, english isn't my mother tongue, I mean things like .jpg or .mp3 but for SCADA. Thanks in advance! More questions might come if one again find myself with doubts that wikipedia can't answer.

Hello,

Each SCADA/HMI would save to whatever file extension it selected. While a some file extension "can" indicate file data content (i.e. txt, bmp, pdf, etc..) it is not required. A file is just a stream of data bytes. The format can be published or not. This applies to all programs that save data to a file.  Any program can create/save to any extension it chooses. A program could save to a bmp extension and work without any problems. Other programs that use the extension to speculate the file data format would not work with the file.

File extensions are only a hint at the file data format.

Yes but what kind of extensions can you select? If you for example are working in controlling the energetic efficiency of an entire building and you using SCADA can control the lights and other peripherals when you have the diagram that controls everything in which extension is it saved? Sorry if I'm making confusing statements, I know pretty little about SCADA

Any program can create/save to any extension it chooses.

In other words the extension has no importance. It could be saved in any file name extension you can create.