Andrei Blagaila

Replacing PPC-CPU852 with WinCPU

6 posts in this topic

Hy guys,

I am working on a series machine that runs Mitsubishi PLC. In the past it had PPC-CPU852 on it that ran a communication software. Starting from 2012 that part is no longer produced but we had a lot of them in storage. Now we are talking about changing it to Q10WCPU-W1-CFE. The custom software will run on it because i already checked. Because i'm not very experienced with Mitsubishi I wanted to ask if I replace the old PPC and it's HDD with the new WinCPU, should I expect any problems if the custom software I need to run on it works? In the PLC Parameter->I/O Assignment I still have the PPC written and it's HDD but at type I have empty. I used this software to run on a rack with WinCPU but not on the whole machine. Just on the rack. Do I need to change the I/O Assignment or will it not affect anything?

1.jpg

In the picture you've posted there are:

1.  (Slot No0) - Q50UDEH CPU -> OK
  2. (Slot No1) - PPC-CPU852 -> OK
  3. (Slot No2) - PPC-CPU852 -> Reads as "Empty" but the description says PPC-CPU852. What is it in "real-life"? Is it a CPU, or something else?
  4. (Slot No3) - PPC-CPU852 HDD -> Is this where the physical harddrive is mounted, or is the description wrong?

Basically you'll also need to check the "Multiple CPU Setting" too. If you have two physical CPU's (Q50UDEH, PPC, Q10W or anything), you need to specify 2 in the "No. of PLC(*1)". If you have three physical CPU's then you specify 3 and so on. In the "I/O Assignment" it will automatically fill in the correct CPU count when you correctly fill in the "Mutltiple CPU Setting" parameters.

Regarding the replacement, I haven't worked enough with the PC CPU's, so I really don't know if replacing them will work or not. I can also add that the PC CPU's are not very commonly used so it will be a bit hard to get experienced feedback on these kinds of questions.