BR063

Encoder Input to control Servo RPM

36 posts in this topic

I have a spindle that has a variable speed controlled by a potentiometer and a VFD (125-275 RPM). The spindle is raised and lowered for rapid up and down via a ball screw and a motor and VFD. The ball screw nut is geared for a fixed feedrate so when the spindle rotates the spindle feeds down. I need to change this to allow multiple feed speeds. In doing so I am replacing the VFD drive on the spindle feed with a Servo motor and drive.   I wish to add an encoder to the spindle and feed this to the machines CP1L high speed input. Based on spindles RPM I would like to lower the spindle at a specific feedrate as well as raise and lower the spindle fast and slow when the spindle RPM is at 0. I have never programmed a servo drive and motor before in CX-Programmer before but it is my understanding that this possible. Any help would be appreciated.

Even low resolution encoder pulsetrain will be too fast for the  CP1L high speed input, if the spindle rotates at 4-digit and probably upper 3-digit RPM.

I would use a cam with inductive sensor, generating one pulse per turn, with 50%On/50%Off ratio. A 100Hz response sensor will work up to 6000RPM.

For 1,2-digit RPM, however, you may need more pulse per turn, that is encoder, or better another inductive sensor watching a sprocket. 

My spindle speed is limited to a range of 125 to 250 RPM max when synchronized feed rate is required. The spindle when stopped will only need to one of two preset speed to raise and lower. At those RPM the high speed counter won't keep up? I was told it would the encoder quoted to me was a E6C2CWZ1X2000PR2M.

1. What model CP1L are you using? Must have transistor outputs to control a servo using High Speed Pulse outputs.