Kiiza

ANALOG INPUTS AND OUTPUTS

27 posts in this topic

Hello guys,

I am happy to be on this forum.

I am just starting up with OMRON PLCs. I have been programming SIEMENS PLCs for the last three years.

I am quite comfortable with the boolean logic. However, I am struggling with the analogs. I'm looking for an instruction that will help me bring in and scale analog inputs and I am wondering if I'll need to unscale the analog outputs as I send them out. I have tried the SCL instruction but it does not seem to do for me what I need. i need to get a signal wired to the input card and convert it to a maningful value. Plus, advice about how to address analog inputs and outputs would be very helpful to me.

Thank you very much, I appreciate.

Edited by Kiiza

Well, this does not say which PLC you are using, but here is a function block that I wrote for scaling a while back:

Provide more info on which PLC and which analog modules you are using and we can help further.

1 person likes this

Hello Michael,

thanks for the reply

Well, I am using C1JM CPU13.

I actually downloaded your function block already.

I still don't understand properly the input Max_Analog_in_INT. Is it really necessary? And what exactly does it mean? and there is the integer data type; because the analog inputs are integers --correct me if I am wrong. The value range in that case is  -32768 to 32767 . How does your FB account for those ranges? Because your FB seems to scale the input from 0 to Max_Analog_in_INT.

Thank you.

Edited by Kiiza

Some analog inputs have a range of 0-4000, some have a range of 0-8000, some have a range of 0 to 30000.  The max value is the max of the analog input range (4000, 8000 or 30000).  It is just used to calculate the scaling equation (y=mx+b).

Hello Michael,