oldnerd

IDEC to ABB VFD

3 posts in this topic

I have a project where I need to connect an IDEC Smart Axis I/O 40 PLC to 2 ABB ACS 355 VFD drives. The IDEC PLC has an on board Ethernet port but I can find little information on how to program the commands over Ethernet from the PLC to the drives. I have never worked with IDEC before any advice from you  experts would be most helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Old Nerd

One of the [very] few things Idec does well is master Modbus.  (At least RTU, I think TCP works similarly iirc).  There is a table you go and fill out to map slave addresses to D registers in the PLC; then the polling happens transparently, without you having to do any handshaking or interlocking in ladder.  You just read and write the mapped registers as if the drive memory were part of the PLC memory.  Very clean.