Magnus

How to work with encoder. "Beginner"

23 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, Im completely new to PLC programming. First of all a short description of what i want to do: I have one DC motor that runs my whole "application". One revolution completes the application cycle and then its repeated. But at certain points (between 0 to 360 degree of revolution) i want to check if some requirements are met using some basic sensors. if not, the motor should stop since something is wrong. So i have this incremental encoder (2000ppr) to determine the position of the motor axis. My question: How do i set up a high speed counter in the CX-one programer software to determine the axis position (between 0 to 360 degree) I have the basic understanding of contacts, memory bits, addresses, etc. PLC: CP1L-L14 Thanks in advance. /Magnus

make sure that encoder is correct type, wired correctly and to correct inputs (not all inputs can be used with high speed counters - check documentation).

Thanks for the reply. This is the specification of my encoder: E6B2-CWZ1X https://industrial.omron.co.uk/en/products/catalogue/sensing/rotary_encoders/incremental/e6b2_c/default.html Im guessing that i should use a high speed counter since the high amount of ppr. Maybe im wrong? could i use a regular counter? still i need help to get started setting this up in the software.