oldnerd

Array RSLogix Studio 5K

5 posts in this topic

I'm new to rslogix 5000, this is my second project and I need some advice from some of the experienced programmers out there. Sorry if this is a little long. I have a project that will drill and tap holes in a manifold, the manifold can be 3' to 10' in length and 1" to 4" in diameter. There a four rows of holes to be drilled, the number, row degree and size of hole can all be varied by the operator input to the recipe entry. I set this up to let each set of holes or hole to be a segment (just a label). I created an array 2 d for position and hole size. Which I was going to step through the array, one element at a time, no problem. Well, half way through the project the boss wanted to be able to sort the holes by the largest of the same size to the least in number and size. The reason for this is to keep from changing tools so often and make the system more efficient. I have done the motion with no problem, electronic gearing, ratio, computing the move distances. So I was surprised when this sorting issue kicked my back side. Any advice would be welcomed.