Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
moneys

PLC Advice needed!

11 posts in this topic

Hi all. As above, i'm new to PLC and i'm planning to program a PC HMI/GUI (window 7 / 8) which can send command to PLC to control the servo motor and to receive data (i.e. Force reading, extension reading, speed) from PLC. (For example: tensile tester.) The data received shall used to generate some graph/report and later those data shall be stored in the database in CPU which may restore for future reference. Does anyone have experience or any idea to this? Which programming language (C++, VB etc ) shall i used to program the HMI/GUI and PLC. Please kindly advice or share some info?

It depends on the PLC that you plan to use. Find that out, and re-post your question in the forum for that PLC brand. That will get you a lot better response.

Thanks for the advice. I'm new to PLC and i have low budget to start this development. I need to get advice from Expect on which is the best programming language to program the PLC (Will the Visual studio or C++ communicate with all PLC?) or is there any other programming language which will be better or easier to program any PLC? I would like to start to program the PC HMI/GUI first before go to PLC Part. Edited by moneys

You need to pick the PLC first. Each PLC has it's own communication protocol and you will likely have to purchase a separate software package to enable the communications from your PC. For example, you'll need RS Linx Professional if you're planning to use an Allen-Bradley PLC, but you'll need MX Components for a Mitsubishi PLC. Furthermore, some PLCs have built-in Ethernet, some only have serial communications. Some even have USB these days. To answer your basic question though, you should certainly be able to use Visual Basic to communicate with most PLCs. That is the language I usually see. C++ is a possibility, but again I stress you need to figure out the PLC before locking yourself into something for the HMI.